Minett Park Fond-de-Gras

Thèmes

Iron ore mining, Journeys in historic trains

Social history, Nature reserve

Geology, Archaeology

Opening hours

  1. Mon Closed
  2. Tue Closed
  3. Wed Closed
  4. Thu Closed
  5. Fri Closed
  6. Sat Closed
  7. Sun 14.00 - 18.00

Address

2, Fond-de-Gras, 4576 Fond-de-Gras, Luxembourg

Contact us

Minett Park Fond-de-Gras

 

2, Fond-de-Gras

L-4576 Niederkorn
(+352)  26 58 20 69

www.minettpark.lu 

Monday to Friday 8 am - 5 pm

Museum's collections 

 

Historic trains (steam, diesel and electric), underground galleries,

grocery store, rolling mill train, power plant, fossils and minerals

Services

  1. Disabled access
  2. Guided tour
  3. Cafeteria
  4. Shop
minettpark-logo
Fond-de-Gras Draisines (1)
Fond-de-Gras Epicerie Binck ORT Sud 4
Fond-de-Gras Minièresbunn Copyright Pulsa Pictures - ORT SUD (39)

 

1900 TRAIN

 

The 1900 Train runs between Pétange and Fond-de-Gras, on the former "Mining Line". The train line was opened in 1874 in order to transport the iron ore extracted from neighbouring mines. A truly unique experience in Luxembourg and the Greater Region - step back in time with the 1900 Train.

Buy your ticket here.

 

MINIÈRESBUNN 

 

Back when the mines were operational, mining trains were vital for removing the iron ore carriages from the mine. At present, the Minièresbunn runs between Fond-de-Gras and Lasauvage and offers a sensational experience when visiting the bottom of the mine.

 

DRAISINES - Rail-Bike

 

Discover the brand new draisines - the very first ones in Luxembourg!

The draisines are 4 seat rail bikes on the track linking the Fond-de-Gras with the Bois-de-Rodange.

 

Distance: 3km

Round trip: +/- 45 minutes

Rate: 10€ per railbike (1 railbike accomodates 4 persons, 2 persons riding); payable in cash 

 

 

LASAUVAGE

 

One of the oldest iron and steel facilities in Luxembourg was located in Lasauvage: a forge built around 1625.

The village experienced spectacular growth owing to the Count of Saintignon. This French industrialist at the time owned mines in Lasauvage and built many buildings in the village: houses for the workers, a church, village hall, etc. Many of these buildings are still standing today and bestow the village with exceptional charm.

 

NATURE AND ARCHAEOLOGY

 

The Minett Park Fond-de-Gras extends between green valleys, plateaus bathed in sunlight and vast forests, making it the ideal destination for breathtaking walks. This lays to rest the notion that the south of Luxembourg was ruined by its industrial past.

A large-scale open-cast mine, the Giele Botter has been transformed into a hundred hectare nature reserve that is being reclaimed by the flora and fauna.

 

At the time of the Celts, the site of Titelberg played a major role due to an important oppidum erected in the first century BC. The excavations carried out at Titelberg testify that it was the capital of the Treviri tribe.

 

Brochure - Sentier de découverte «Prënzebierg - Giele Botter»; Sentier géologique «Giele Botter» (FR)

Brochure Entdeckungspfad „Prënzebierg - Giele Botter“; Lehrpfad Geologie „Giele Botter“ (DE)

 

 

OPENING HOURS & PRICES

 

01.05 – end of September

Sun & public holidays (except 23.06)

July/Aug. Thu, Sun & public holidays

 

klick here for the detailed schedules and prices

 

GUIDED TOURS

 

The site of Fond-de-Gras  (approximately 1hr 30mins)

The guided tours highlight Luxembourg’s mining, industrial and railway history. During the outdoor part of the visit, visitors can access various historic buildings (grocery stores, power plants and railway stations).

Book your tour here.

 

Railway hall (approximately 1hr30mins) 

The tour includes a visit of the facilities of the Train 1900. Its main theme is the steam train.

 

The Village of Lasauvage (approximately 1hr30mins)

Lasauvage’s history is that of a workers’ village and is strongly influenced by the steel industry and mining. During the visit the story of Count Ferdinand Saintignon (1846-1921), the ironmaster of Lasauvage, will be explained.

Book your tour here.

 

The “Giele Botter” (between 2hrs and 3hrs)

The former open-pit mine the "Giele Botter" is now a nature reserve where flora and fauna thrive again. The tour covers the industrial aspect of the site and its conversion into a protected natural area.

Book your tour here.

 

The Celtic Town of the "Titelberg" (approximately 2hrs)

The Celtic Town of the “Titelberg” Located on a rocky outcrop of 50 hectares, the “Titelberg” is an archaeological site of great importance. Archaeologists have discovered remains of human occupation dating back to the first half of the 1st century BC. The basement of the archaeological site contains iron ore which was already used during the Iron Age.

Book your tour here.

 

EVENTS 2020

 

01.05    Season opening

13.06    Well-being walk in nature

28.06    Culinary trip "Echappée culinaire"

11.07    Blues Express

26.07    Vintage Car Day

28.08    Show Polentone!

05.09 - 06.09    Steam Festival

21.11 - 22.11    Trains of St. Nicholas Day

04.12    Feast of Saint Barbara

 

 

 

DIRECTIONS

 

By car 
Motorway A13 direction Pétange, exit 2 Niederkorn, then follow signs "Fond-de-Gras"

Free parking available

 

By Train 1900 
Pétange, follow the signs "Train 1900", to the train departure platform (rue de Niederkorn)

 

www.mobiliteit.lu