© Pulsa Pictures_ORT SUD

Minett Park Fond-de-Gras

Niederkorn

History of railway and technology

The Minett Park Fond-de-Gras is an open-air museum that includes the Fond-de-Gras, the village of Lasauvage, the former open-cast mine of “Giele Botter” and the Celtic oppidum of Titelberg.

Historically, the Fond-de-Gras was one of the most important mining centres in Luxembourg. A few years after the closure of the last mine at the Fond-de-Gras in 1964, a few volunteers worked to preserve part of the railway line with the aim of operating a tourist train on the line. The first such train service ran in 1973.

Today, at the Fond-de-Gras, several historic buildings have been preserved: an electric power station, old grocery store, rolling mill train, railway station and railway sheds, testifying to the mining activity that took place there for nearly a century.

Train 1900

The Train 1900 runs between Pétange and Fond-de-Gras, on the former "Mining Line". The train line was opened in 1874 in order to transport the iron ore extracted from neighbouring mines. A truly unique experience in Luxembourg and the Greater Region - step back in time with the Train 1900.

Minièresbunn Doihl

Back when the mines were operational, mining trains were vital for removing the iron ore carriages from the mine. At present, the Minièresbunn runs between Fond-de-Gras and Lasauvage and offers a sensational experience when visiting the bottom of the mine.

Draisines - Railbikes

The draisines are 4 seat rail bikes on the track linking the Fond-de-Gras with the Bois-de-Rodange.

While you cycle along the track between Fond-de-Gras and Bois-de-Rodange and enjoy the peace and fresh air, you can get an idea of how much power the locomotives used to have to muster to pull the extremely heavy wagons loaded with iron ore along this track from a standing start.

Distance: 3km

Round trip: +/- 45 minutes

The village of Lasauvage

One of the oldest iron and steel facilities in Luxembourg was located in Lasauvage: a forge built around 1625.

The village experienced spectacular growth owing to the Count of Saintignon. This French industrialist at the time owned mines in Lasauvage and built many buildings in the village: houses for the workers, a church, village hall, etc. Many of these buildings are still standing today and bestow the village with exceptional charm.

Nature and archeology

The Minett Park Fond-de-Gras extends between green valleys, plateaus bathed in sunlight and vast forests, making it the ideal destination for breathtaking walks. This lays to rest the notion that the south of Luxembourg was ruined by its industrial past.

A large-scale open-cast mine, the Giele Botter has been transformed into a hundred hectare nature reserve that is being reclaimed by the flora and fauna.

At the time of the Celts, the site of Titelberg played a major role due to an important oppidum erected in the first century BC. The excavations carried out at Titelberg testify that it was the capital of the Treviri tribe.

Available Offers

Crime on board of the steam train "Train 1900" - Teambuilding

Duration: 120 minutes
Crime on board of the steam train "Train 1900" - Teambuilding
Find out more
© Pulsa Pictures
Mine train Minièresbunn

A little time travel journey through the galleries of the Fond-de-Gras
Find out more
© Pulsa Pictures
Historical steam train "Train 1900"

Fancy a journey back in time ?
Find out more
© Pulsa Pictures
min.15 €DRAISINES - Rail-Bike
Minett-Park Fond-de-Gras

  • Multiple different guided tours possible on request
  • Guided tour of the former industrial site, of an archeological dig, ...
  • Ride on a steam train or a mining railway

How to get there

Minett Park Fond-de-Gras
2, Fond-de-Gras
L-4576 Niederkorn

Show on map

By car 
Motorway A13 direction Pétange, exit 2 Niederkorn, then follow signs "Fond-de-Gras"

Free parking available

By Train 1900 
Pétange, follow the signs "Train 1900", to the train departure platform (rue de Niederkorn)

www.mobiliteit.lu


Opening Hours

Open on Sundays from the 1st of May until the last September week-end.

Please always check the opening hours before your visit.